Convention round up for my team!

Today a few members of my team and their guests are getting together to go through the things I learnt at convention. I’m very excited to share my experience with them. I was fortunate to have a couple of people with me at convention and even luckier to have a group that we can share the fun with. My team tries to get together for a stamp and some professional development once a quarter, or when something comes up that we can all benefit from bouncing ideas around about. We will stamp and go through the goodies I have put together (more about them in a minute) for them as well as have some coffee and cake. Those that were not at convention will get a little package that looks like this…..

meeting folders How cool are these folders? They are actually come all ready, with tabs to pop in a filing cabinet. They are available at woolworths for the princely sum of just $5 for a package of 6. They are quite sturdy and match beautifully with our in colours, baja breeze and kiwi kiss with that old time fave, choc chip.

I have made a belly band for each one using a 2.5in strip of kiwi that (you need 2.5 strips cut from the long side of an A4 piece) you just run through the scallop edge punch. Join them together and then fold around the folder – don’t worry about where the joins are – you’ll never see them.

Then I cut 2x 1.5in strips of baja breeze designer paper and added that to the middle of the belly band – note that it doesn’t come all the way around – leave the gap in the middle at the front. I cut a large whisper white circle (using my nestabilities) and stamped some flowers from the fifth avenue set in baja and kiwi. I added their monogram with choc chip and stamped ‘for you’ on the side. I daubered the edges with baja ink and stuck to large scalloped chip chip circle. I had some choc taffeta left over from the last mini catalogue so I wrapped that around, but am actually thinking double stitched grosgrain would have looked good too. I added a little label on each tab using my choc chip marker or white gel pen, “SU! convention 2009” and then a clip with a piece of coordinating ribbon to the top edge of the folder………they all look good enough to eat and I can’t tell you how much fun they were to make.

contentsThe members of my team that were at convention actually got a little covered book (see the posts below) so they now will all have a hand stamped gift. The little box you see above is the gift I have for one of the demonstrators from my second level. I’ll show what is inside that a little later (after she has it of course).

The photo on the right is the package I have made up for each. They have some copies of the photos I took of samples that were on display at convention. I have also included a set of my notes typed up so they are neat and legible…….interestingly it was a good idea to do this as it has cemented some new ideas I picked up at convention and given me a new drive to try them out (good tip for some of the other demos that went..). I have also copied the sheets from the make and takes we did, we’ll look at the samples and have a go at making a couple here. Finally I included a swap that I made and never swapped – I know, I’m hopeless. I’m actually quite driven at these things – love the learning experience, convention really is a credit to SU! they could teach some teaching staff a thing or two about developing new ideas and motivation in a large group of people LOL!!

Anyway – need to go and bake a cake for us to gobble up later LOL………..just thought you might like to know what happens at some of the team meetings around the traps…….oh, and remember just DAYS left on the great promotion to sign up for just $150…….you NEED to e-mail me today to get the ball rolling on that one!!

All images © Stampin’ Up! 1990 – 2009

One thought on “Convention round up for my team!

  1. oh wow sharon is it too late to come i would love to know what happened at convention. I can’t remember a thing
    might have been the wine that did it.

Leave a Reply

