My birthday celebration for DH

birthday warreninside badayYep – another September birthday here at the Davis household. This time DH has a birthday on Monday. He will be off very early in the morning for a breakfast appointment and then will not return home from the surgery until well after my kids are tucked into bed – prolly 9.30pm ………… yep – long hours required when working in the medical industry – whether you have two legged patients or four legged patients. So, we have decided to celebrate tonight with a family dinner and we will give him his pressies then …… so frantically making cards this afternoon, in between bolting to the clothes line during a brief thunderstorm.

So card No 1 is shown here – finally letting my new birthday based stamp set see some real ink. The colours for this were taken straight from the colour wheel – always artichoke, not quite navy, bashful blue and close to cocoa. I have used my markers and punches well and even tried stamping straight onto twill tape.

I have decorated the inside – an essential component in a good card according to DH, so I dare not continue without putting in an insert. I even managed to find some not quite navy stitched ribbon from a couple of catalogues ago.

I usually make two cards for everyone in the house – one from me and the kiddlings and the other from the inlaws; my sister, dad and nephew.

The next card is a little more subtle and not so masculine, but none the less, natty.

This one uses an old carousel card from the last catalogue, soft sky in colour along with retired patterned paper, once again utilising the markers. the large vanilla jumbo brad is where the card actually slides open to reveal a happy birthday sentiment. It has been nice creating in the middle of the day on a Sunday – other stuff I should be doing, but what the heck hay!!! LOL!!

birthday cake pile

All images © Stampin’ Up! 1990 – 2009

One thought on “My birthday celebration for DH

Leave a Reply

