Back to the real world…..and a Christmas window card

Yep, back from the brink of HSC marking. I have just yesterday completed marking 850 papers for the NSW HSC. A mammoth task, I thought would never end. I am finally comfortable at home and spent some time last eveinging making some little Christmas cards for some friends. I thought I’d share……

This was inspired by my sister and friend who attended the Sydney Regional training for Stampin’ Up! yesterday. I wanted these cards to hang from a bag, so the idea was just perfect. These very cute little windo cards are 10.5cm square and fit into these envelopes I had here at home. Notice the ribbon on the card shown on the right……………..hmmm, a sneak peak of what will arrive on December 1st in our new mini catalogue. It is teamed here with the ski slope papers that will be leaving our inventry on November 30th…..I have so enjoyed working wit the colour combinations these cards have in them.

This card came about while stamping with a group of ladies teaching them to make some window cards. I decided it would be better to use a square punch to punch the window section out of the cardstock and the paper. I usually just hand cut. Anyway while showing them, I started to punch a square out of each corner and low and behold – there was a EUREKA moment as Barbara (one of my ccustomers) and I looked at each other with wide eyes and the realisation hit us that this will make a great window pane card and the rest of the plan came quicklt from there.

The tree is actually all glittered using heat and stick powder and dazzling diamonds and I have used three stamp sets here, something I usually try and avoid – I know most of you want to see what can be made with just one or two stamp sets. Those who know me will understand the need to get this card out of my head…..LOL….it has driven me nuts that I have been working until 10pm every night and all day saturday for over a week…..I am much relieved to finally let go of this design…..it is so cute, but fiddly – especially when the 1 1/4in square punch packs it in….so back to hand cutting!! My dear Dad came to the rescue this morning and managed to fix my punch using a 5c piece of all things……..I have a close up below that might let you see the glitter on the tree and the glitter I got everywhere …… LOL……I may put up details of this project in my demo site a bit later on, after I delivered these cards to their recipients.

All images © Stampin’ Up! 1990 – 2009

NOTE – I AM PLACING AN ORDER ON TUESDAY AND AM OFFERING FREE POSTAGE UNTIL THEN. WHY NOT GRAB ANY LAST MUST HAVE’S FROM THE CURRENT MINI…….LAST CHANCE TO GRAB THOSE PARTICULAR GOODIES.

Leave a Reply

