I Lied!…..this was my last Christmas gift made …..LOL

These are the gift wallets I made the MEN……in my house. This was their surprise gift. Each contained a ticket to go see Top Gear Live in February……we packaged these up with a Top Gear T shirt each that we almost fell over when shopping this week. We managed to find one for each of them in Target and I whipped these up on Christmas Eve to package them in.

They are made with Ruby Red cardstock (have a heap of this here when I misordered for the surgery calendars DOH!) and teamed that up with the Holiday Treasures paper series. This series is really handy – it has some lovely feminine designs with poinsettias in pinks, reds and chocolate and then these lovely designs in old olive and ruby red. This sort of pack is just right for us with a combination of boys and girls in our family. The front cover is just stamped with snowflakes from snow swirled in ruby red ink. This is a subtle and easy design. These were whipped up within half and hour and I just used the size of the tickets as a guide…..Just made them slightly bigger. Here is what they look like inside.

The inside is even easier, just cut the piece of patterned paper slightly smaller than the bottom half of inside and then I cut a piece of ruby red, the exact same size as the ticket. Before adhering that I sticky taped two pieces of ribbon around the front to hold in the tickets – the trick here is not to stick them too tightly, so the ticket can be easily inserted under them. Then the ruby red piece was adhered to the inside of the gift wallet.

The wallets were finished with a belly band by cutting a pice of patterned paper about 3.5cm wide, choc chip cardstock about 4 cm wide, adhering the strips together and then wrapping around the wallet. I always do this loose enough that the belly band slides on and off easily, without falling off and then trim and adhere with the overlap on the back. To the front, I adhered a square scallop shape (punched with my trusty scallop punch) and then stamped the merry Christmas stamp from Punches Three ( a great hostess set……you really should organise a workshop during salebration to get this stamp to use next Christmas….so, so handy – I know I won’t be chucking this set ever!). I actually stamped it in ruby red and old olive, punched both and just trimmed slightly to make the sentiment appear in red and then stuck that together with dimensionals. Easy, easy, easy…………..a rest from Christmas now? I think so, once I get the 100 calendars I’m working on finished GGggggrrrrrrrr

All images © Stampin’ Up! 1990 – 2009

Leave a Reply

