What have I been up to??

Well…..lots actually! My husband has had to have some major surgery so I am home from work for a little while and have been having some elefun….get it….LOL…… I actually made this some time ago and can’t remember of I’ve shown you yet……but I just love this cute little guy….

My sons boss just had a baby boy and what better time to whack open the elephun and whip up some easy gift wrapping…….now THIS is the way to impress……

1. make a great handmade card

2. emphasise the ‘one-offness’ by stamping on the envelope and then…..

3. grab some cheap white wrapping paper and coordinate your gift wrapping ………

Now the design of the card came from this years catalogue (no wonder it is called an idea book!!) ….the card I used is found on page 146 using similar colours…..but I used more cherry cobbler.

Stamp sets used; Teeny tiny Sentiments ($46.95 clr) Elebration ($19.95) and Woodgrain ($33.95)

Colours ; Sahara sand (card base), early expresso (stamp and CS), baha breeze (CS)

Embellishments; Cherry cobbler seam binding ribbon, early expresso bakers twine, baja breeze corderoy button (retired)

Techniques; water coloured using the watercolour wonder crayons , on water colour paper in the exact colours used in Cardstock and stamping – this really makes a good finish. Stamp first in stazon to ensure the colours don’t make the black ink run. The present was drawn up on a scrap of water colour paper and a carft knife was used to cut around his bottom foot, to allow the present to slip into place. this meant the cake was replaced with a present. This was inspired by Kirsty Brown. Who isn’t inspired by her work?!

Ok….now that the card was made…..I can’t help but try and coordinate my packaging. I had a roll of plain white wrapping paper that I tried stamping on……it worked!!….sometimes the paper is too glossy and the ink doesn’t dry and it just smudges…..so I’ll be grabbing some more of that paper to coordinate the gift wrapping

Too cute huh……so my challenge to you is to create a card AND coordinating packaging……it is just soooooo satisfying!!

If you’d like to order any of the stuff I used to make this card…it’s easy…and you can even get yourself a free stampset (check the post below!!) if you order before the end of June……If you are local…I’ll mount your stamps for you otherwise it is an easy task…great for watching telly……..just e-mail sharon@lvh.com.au

All images © Stampin’ Up! 1990 – 2012

Leave a Reply

